ADA Compliance
The City of St. Augustine remains committed to providing accessibility to all and provides for handicapped accessible parking in the city. For a map of accessible parking locations, Click Here To notify the city regarding accessibility concerns contact Todd Grant, Public Works Deputy Director, Phn: 904.825.1040, Fax: 904.209.4286, Email: You may also write City of St. Augustine, P.O. Box 210, St. Augustine, FL 32085-0210.

Consumer Confidence Report
The City of St. Augustine remains committed to providing clean and safe drinking water. For the previous year's sampling results please click here. To notify the city regarding water treatment concerns contact: Patrick Timoney, Water Treatment Plant Supervisor, Phn: 904.825.1044, Fax: 904.823-2280, Email:; or, or write the City of St. Augustine, P.O. Box 210, St. Augustine, FL 32085-0210.

St. Augustine boasts a host of Great Floridians

It was 15 years ago that the Florida Legislature, forward looking to the turn-of-the-century, established a program to recognize individuals who have made important contributions to Florida's history and culture. Called Great Floridians 2000, the program called for the naming of individuals who made significant contributions to the history and culture of the state and then to have a distinctive marker placed at a location associated with each person.

While the Great Floridians 2000 program, coordinated in partnership between the Florida League of Cities and the Florida Department of State, recognized only deceased Floridians, another ongoing Great Floridians program recognizes those who have made similar contributions, both those who are living and those who are deceased.

Great Floridians 2000 was to have identified 2000 individuals through nominations from municipalities, and while it fell short of that goal ultimately naming 385 honorees, the program succeeded by bringing deserving recognition to many heretofore unrecognized great Floridians. St. Augustine, with a total of 29 honorees, lead all other municipalities in the number of honorees, and by the end of 2002 official markers had been placed at designated locations throughout the city.

And who are they?

Once nominated, the selection of those to receive this honor was determined by members of a special committee, the Great Floridians 2000 Committee, which included representatives selected by the Florida Department of State and the Florida League of Cities. Nominations were then judged based on the significance of the individual's contributions, association of the individual with a historic site in the city, and the degree to which the individual and his or her contributions are recognizable by the general public.

St. Augustine's honorees reflect the city's hundreds of years of history, its great diversity of cultures and the wide variety of talents, skills and influences demonstrated by those honored. To read a biographical sketch of each honoree and follow a link to the location of the historical marker, click on each name below.

Andrew Anderson

Frank B. Butler
Felix de Crano
Earl Cunningham
Anna Dummett
Louisa Fatio
Henry M. Flagler
Walter Fraser
Nina Hawkins
Martin Johnson Heade
Lawrence Lewis, Jr.
William Wing Loring
Albert Manucy
Pedro Menendez de Aviles
Luella Day McConnell
Prince Napoleon Murat
Francisco Pellicer
Xavier Lopez Pellicer
Verle A. Pope
Robert L. Ripley
Buckingham Smith
Edmund Kirby Smith
Frances Kirby Smith
Franklin Waldo Smith
Elizabeth M. Towers
Henry L. Twine
Emily Lloyd Wilson
Charles F. Usina
Felix Varela


Additional resources:


<Return Home