ADA Compliance
The City of St. Augustine remains committed to providing accessibility to all and provides for handicapped accessible parking in the city. For a map of accessible parking locations, Click Here To notify the city regarding accessibility concerns contact Todd Grant, Public Works Deputy Director, Phn: 904.825.1040, Fax: 904.209.4286, Email: You may also write City of St. Augustine, P.O. Box 210, St. Augustine, FL 32085-0210.

Consumer Confidence Report
The City of St. Augustine remains committed to providing clean and safe drinking water. For the previous year's sampling results please click here. To notify the city regarding water treatment concerns contact: Patrick Timoney, Water Treatment Plant Supervisor, Phn: 904.825.1044, Fax: 904.823-2280, Email:; or, or write the City of St. Augustine, P.O. Box 210, St. Augustine, FL 32085-0210.


City Commission presents Order of la Florida to Herbie Wiles

The St. Augustine City Commission took time at the beginning of its April 22 meeting to present St. Augustine’s highest and most prestigious award, the Order of la Florida, to Herbie Wiles. Created in 1975 as a way for the commission to recognize those who have “contributed extraordinary services to our community,” the commission has voted to present the award on just 18 other occasions.

H. L. “Herbie” Wiles is a native of St. Augustine and a graduate of Ketterlinus High School where he was a varsity cheerleader. After service in the US Navy, during which he was stationed at Pearl Harbor in the years following World War II, Wiles entered Florida State University and graduated in 1953 with a Bachelor in Business Administration being one of the first men to enroll in the previously all-women’s college.

Wiles’ insurance career began 60 years ago this year when he became a licensed insurance agent and began working with his father, G. Randy Wiles. In 1961, he founded Herbie Wiles Insurance.

Wiles’ public service career began in 1966 when he was elected to the St Johns County Board of Commissioners serving for 12 years including three terms as chairman. During his service he helped establish the St. Johns County Building Department and implement the county’s first zoning ordinance which included the county’s flood set-back line for construction along county beaches and established a county-wide 35-foot building height limit. Wiles’ was also the first chair and charter member of the Northeast Florida Regional Planning Council in 1977.

His community service career includes membership on the boards of the Flagler College President’s Council, FSU Alumni Association Emeritus, Ashlar Masonic Lodge & St. Augustine Shrine Club, the St. Augustine Elks Club, Wesley Manor/Westminster Wood, Flagler Hospital, the Wachovia/First Union/Atlantic Bank Advisory Board, and as a charter member of The Navy League.

Wiles also served as President of the St Augustine Kiwanis Club and the St. Augustine/St Johns County Chamber of Commerce, and through his leadership, those organizations played significant roles in the preparation and implementation of St. Augustine’s 400th Anniversary in 1965.

Wiles and his wife Annette have been married for 61 years and have two children, Doug, president of Herbie Wiles Insurance, and Debbie, a grief therapist practicing in St. Augustine and Palatka.


The Order of la Florida was created in 1975 by the St. Augustine City Commission to “acknowledge, recognize and honor persons who have distinguished themselves by unselfishly devoting their time and talents to the betterment and welfare of our citizens and our heritage, and who have, over a long period of time, contributed extraordinary services to our community.”   The selection process begins with a nomination by a city commissioner. Wiles was nominated by former Commissioner Bill Leary while he was still on the commission.

The award is limited to nine living recipients and consists of a framed certificate inscribed with text unique to each recipient. For Wiles, the inscription reads:

In recognition of over sixty years of unselfish devotion of time and talent to the welfare and betterment of the people of St. Augustine and for exemplary actions that demonstrate the finest qualities of citizenship and commitment to community.

Below is a roster of recipients with presentation dates (*deceased):

•  Henry W. McMillan* (05.28.75)
•  Herbert E. Wolfe* (02.15.77)
•  John D. Bailey (02.15.77)
•  Albert C. Manucy* (05.09.83)
•  Lawrence Lewis, Jr.* (01.29.84)
•  Eleanor Phillips Barnes* (08.26.86)
•  Xavier Lopez Pellicer, Sr.* (01.27.87)
•  Clarissa Anderson Gibbs* (01.27.87)
•  Luis Rafael Arana* (12.13.88)
•  Eugene Lyon (10.26.92)
•  Edward G. Mussallem (03.26.94)
•  Jerome George Kass* (10.05.97)
•  Kenneth Beeson* (05.14.01)
•  William L. Proctor (08.24.01)
•  Michael Gannon (09.18.07)
•  Kathleen Deagan (09.18.07)
•  Frank D. & Elizabeth K. Usina (09.14.09)
•  H. L. “Herbie” Wiles (04.22.13)
•  Robert B. Hayling (07.02.13)

For more information about the presentation, contact the Public Affairs Department at 904.825.1004.

<Return Home